Mobile navigation


2024 WMAs include two new categories

The 2024 World Media Awards have announced they are open for entry, new categories include ‘Small Budget, Great Impact’ and B2B.

2024 WMAs include two new categories
Santosh Sethumadhavan: “The World Media Awards always provides insight into how the top international advertising teams are driving engagement and success for global brands through content-led marketing strategies.”

The 2024 World Media Awards (WMAs) are open for entry, offering 11 categories to recognise cross-platform, cross-border, content-driven advertising. Created by the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of global media brands that promotes journalism and the value of quality international media to the marketing industry, the WMAs are now in their ninth year.

The organisers say they have added two new categories this year. The B2B category is designed to recognise content-led campaigns targeting international business audiences. These can come from any brand that creates products or services designed to support business customers.

The new ‘Small Budget, Great Impact’ specialist category is designed to show off strong partnerships between brands and media owners. It recognises international branded-content campaigns that are created on a smaller budget (less than €300K or USD $300K). The ‘Small Budget, Great Impact’ category can be entered by media owners and must demonstrate how the client and media owner have worked together to develop engaging content that delivers results for the brand.

To reflect the importance of collaboration in creating successful international, content-driven advertising campaigns, the independent jury is made up of judges from brands, agencies and media owners. Leading this year’s line-up are co-chairs Jasmin Kaur, global managing partner, Havas Media Network and Santosh Sethumadhavan, global head of commercial campaigns, Swift. You can find out more about this year’s judges here.

“The last few years have been challenging for the marketing and media industry, across agencies, publishers and in-house. Concerns around profitability have resulted in budget cuts which often means brands are expected to be doing more with less,” said Kaur. “The Small Budget, Great Impact category is an inspired addition to the World Media Awards. We’ll be looking for campaigns that show a deep understanding of the client’s brand and marketing objectives and deliver innovative content in the most effective format. It’s going to be one of the most interesting categories to judge, and I’m looking forward to seeing just how creative brands can be on a smaller budget!”

Sethumadhavan added: “The World Media Awards always provides insight into how the top international advertising teams are driving engagement and success for global brands through content-led marketing strategies. After many years of leading B2B campaigns for major brands, I’m particularly excited to see that the jury will be evaluating B2B as a standalone sector category this year. Alongside Jasmin, I look forward to working with the judges to ensure that we surface the very best campaigns and give them the kudos they deserve.”

The World Media Awards says it offers a prize to each of the sector category winners. The winning entries are amplified in a worldwide advertising campaign valued at more than €750k running across the World Media Group’s leading international media brands. Members comprise BBC Global News, Business Insider, CNN, The Economist, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, The New York Times Company, Politico, Reuters, TIME, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and associate member, The Atlantic.

The WMAs are not-for-profit. 50 percent of the entry fee will be donated to Reporters Without Borders, which protects and supports journalism and freedom of speech around the world. Early bird entry fees before 28th June are £150. Entry fees after 28th June are £200. The exception to this is the Rising Star category, which is £50 to enter. The total entry fee for Rising Stars will be donated to Brixton Finishing School, which supports access to the advertising and media industry for under represented communities.

You can enter the WMAs here. Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least three countries and 75% of the activity needs to have been implemented between April 2023 and June 2024. There is no requirement for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries is Thursday 12th September 2024.

This year there are 11 award categories plus the Content Leadership & Innovation award, which is judged based on nominations from WMG members. The jury will select the Grand Prix from amongst the following category winners:

  • Automotive
  • B2B
  • Corporate Influencer
  • Financial Services
  • Luxury & Lifestyle
  • Technology & Telecoms
  • Travel & Tourism

The World Media Awards says the following four categories are designed to celebrate the power of great partnerships between brands and media owners; the potential for brand storytelling to drive progress on social issues; and to celebrate the next generation of talented individuals who are leading the way in delivering effective, creative and innovative solutions for brands.

  • Brand and Media Owner partnership
  • Small Budget, Great Impact
  • Rising Star
  • Social Good

The winners will be announced at a live ceremony on Thursday 21st November 2024. Shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.

Keep up-to-date with publishing news: sign up here for InPubWeekly, our free weekly e-newsletter.