Jan Gooding to chair Newsworks Planning Awards

Now open for entries, the Newsworks Planning Awards are back for a third year to celebrate and promote outstanding media planning across UK newsbrands.

Aviva’s group brand director Jan Gooding will lead the 2015 jury. She has recently been appointed as the chair of new audience measurement company PAMCo and is also chair of LGBT equality charity Stonewall.

Gooding will be joined on the Newsworks awards panel by a host of industry elite, including Samsung’s James Eadie, MediaCom’s Claudine Collins, O2’s Kev McFadyen, adam&eveDDB’s James Murphy, Vodafone’s Katrina Lowes and ZenithOptimedia’s Grant Millar.

“When I look at an ad campaign, I’m looking for a coherent logic behind what we’re trying to do and why we’re doing it in this way”, Gooding said. “What’s very useful about these awards is they capture people’s thinking from beginning to end.”

The awards feature six categories, plus a Chair's Award. The categories include Best Newspaper Campaign, Best Newsbrand Campaign, Best Topical Campaign, the Tablet Award, an Omnimedia Award and Best Content Partnership.

The jury:

• Richard Beard, communications manager at Ford Motor Company

• Jenny Biggam, UK director at the7Stars

• Kerris Bright, chief marketing officer, Virgin Media

• Dan Clays, chief executive at OMD UK

• Claudine Collins, managing director UK at MediaCom

• Graeme Douglas, group chief strategy officer at Havas Media

• James Eadie, brand and comms director at Samsung

• Jane Frost, chief executive officer at the Market Research Society (MRS)

• Katrina Lowes, head of marketing, Vodafone Global Enterprise

• Tim Male, head of advertising & media, investment & retail marketing at Halifax Group

• John Maloney, managing partner - head of investment at Maxus

• Kev McFadyen, head of strategy & planning at Telefonica O2 UK

• Grant Millar, chief executive officer at ZenithOptimedia UK

• James Murphy, founder of adam&eveDDB

• Rufus Olins, chief executive at Newsworks

• Vanessa Clifford, deputy chief executive at Newsworks

• Denise Turner, insight director at Newsworks

Rufus Olins, chief executive of Newsworks, said: “When the Planning Awards first launched in 2013, the term ‘newsbrands’ was still new to people. It is now an established way of describing the multi-platform newspapers that allow planners to reach highly engaged and attentive readers. Every year we have some brilliant entries and I have no doubt that the 2015 Planning Awards will continue to live up to those high standards. We certainly have an expert and experienced jury, each of whom have been involved in very high quality work themselves. Winning one of these awards will be a real accolade.”

Details and entry forms can be found at:

The deadline for entries is 9 October 2015. An awards celebration will take place on the evening of 25 November 2015 at the Century Club, London.