Mobile navigation


PPA New Talent Awards 2018 - Winners Announced

The PPA New Talent Awards were held on March 22 at LSO St. Luke’s, an 18th-century Grade I listed Hawksmoor church.

PPA New Talent Awards 2018 - Winners Announced

Terri White, Editor-in-Chief of Empire, hosted the evening. She kicked things off with a rousing speech: “Some people try to tell you magazine media is dead...I’m here to tell you that is absolute bollocks.”

White and Barry McIlheney, PPA CEO, are both previous recipients of PPA New Talent Awards. McIlheney commented: “I am absolutely convinced that there is still no more exciting career than one in consumer magazines and business media – one of the most challenging right now, yes – but also one of the most rewarding and downright sexy industries in the world.

“It was a genuine thrill for me to see a room full of so many people so enthusiastic and so passionate about this wonderful industry of ours.”

This year’s awards took a new format. Aside from the Student of the Year and Media Owner for New Talent categories, the rest of the awards handed out on the night were for the New Talent 30 under 30.

These were whittled down from over 130 entrants and judged by accomplished names in the magazine industry. Winners were selected for their excellence – memorise the names of the individuals below, as they will be on your radar for years to come as they exceed and advance in their careers, says the PPA.

The Winners:


Hearst Magazines UK

30 UNDER 30

Charlotte Shakespeare, Haymarket Media Group

Neha-Tamara Patel, Shortlist Media

Sarah Jane Cavill, Hearst Magazines UK

Hugo Gilligan, Top Gear

Grace Lewis, Chemist+Druggist

Ross Willett, Bauer Media

Jack Simpson, Construction News

Emma Grace Bailey, WGSN

Chris Mandle, ShortList

Jennifer Savin, Cosmopolitan

Louisa Clarence-Smith, RBI

Victoria Turk, WIRED

Amrit Gill, Dennis Publishing

Calum Di Lieto, C&IT magazine

Emma-Louise Pritchard, Country Living

Grace Harrison, Foul Play

Victoria Bonney, Bauer Media

Ella McGregor, Nursing Times

Mark Tisshaw, Autocar

Roisin Dervish-O’Kane, Women’s Health

Jonathan Sherrard, Shortlist Media

Olly Gibbs, Empire

Kate Lloyd, Time Out

Emily Badiozzaman, Hearst Magazines UK

Vicky Spratt, The Debrief

Josh Newis-Smith, InStyle UK

Jane Casey, EMAP/Metropolis

Harriet Hall, Stylist

Isabella Silvers, Hearst Magazines UK

Fraser Clark,


Selena Randhawa, City, University of London


Laura Rutkowski, City, University of London

For the first time in New Talent Awards history, the Student of the Year category recognised two winners. On the night, McIlheney explained the decision: “The entries here were of such fantastic quality that the judges decided to reward two winners. Both produced work that is engaging, unexpected, thorough and of incredibly high quality. Both showed astonishing talent and skill that marked them out as ones to watch in the future.”

The Awards were supported by the following sponsors: Adestra, Air Business, Buxton, Denmaur Independent Papers, Publishers’ Licensing Services, Rhapsody, Wyndeham and YM Group.